Banana Oatmeal Bars


I just today discovered FriesenCold’s recipe for banana oatmeal bars, but trust me, this will not be the only time I make them. These bars come together quickly, require very few ingredients, and are so versatile! I snacked on one today while waiting for my daal to finish simmering, and I’ll probably have another topped with peach strawberry butter or peanut butter tonight! Cut into larger pieces, the bars could also be a pretty substantial breakfast. Below is my adapted recipe.

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1/2 cup dates, chopped (be sure to remove the pit!)

1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

2 cups quick cooking oats

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Press the dough into a 9 inch cake or brownie pan. Bake for 30 minutes, then remove from oven and let cool 10 minutes. Cut into squares, and let the bars finish cooling on a wire rack. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

