Strawberry Basil Jam


Strawberry season is coming to an end. To make the season last just a few weeks longer, I decided to make preserves. I have tried many strawberry jam recipes, but the best by far comes from Food in Jars. I reduced the amounts by half, to accommodate my tiny pot, and at the last minute, threw in fresh basil from my CSA basket. I added about 10-12 leaves for a slight tinge of basil–a stronger flavour would likely require roughly 20.

4 cups chopped strawberries

1 cup sugar

2 tablespoons lemon juice

10-12 basil leaves, julienned

(fills 1 mason jar)

Mix the strawberries and the sugar together in a pot and let macerate for at least an hour. Add the lemon juice, and cook the mixture over medium-high heat for roughly 15 minutes, until it begins to resemble a syrup. Remove from heat and use an immersion (or regular) blender to blend about half of the fruit. Bring the mixture to a boil again, and cook for roughly 10 minutes, until the jam is even more syrupy. Stir in the basil leaves, pour the entire mixture into a clean glass jar, and close tightly. I plan on finishing my jam within the next three weeks, so I did not bother processing the jar in a water bath.

Leave a Reply

