Garlic Scape & Zucchini Pizza


Confession: I actually made this recipe a week ago, but it was so delicious that I have not been able to stop thinking about it!

Faced with an abundance of garlic scapes and zucchini in my CSA basket last week and inspired by A Thought for Food’s gorgeous photos, I decided to attempt pizza-making. My previous attempts have always been rather mediocre: dough that refuses to rise, soggy crusts,  burned black bottoms, etc. This time, I used a quick pizza dough recipe from In Mama’s Kitchen. I had some issues mixing the second batch of flour in with the dough, which I think is responsible for the minimal rising. Nevertheless, the dough was elastic and easy to roll out.

1 zucchini, sliced into thin half-moons

5 garlic scapes

1/2 cup feta

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 squirts of lemon juice

Salt, to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Lightly oil and then flour a baking sheet. I found it easiest to put the rolled-out dough onto the baking sheet before adding toppings. Mix the olive oil, lemon juice, and salt in a bowl, and then spread evenly across the dough (spoons are great for this!). Place the zucchini half-moons and the garlic scapes on the pizza, ensuring that they are distributed evenly across the surface. Crumble the feta on top. The original recipe calls for these to be baked for 30 minutes, but I found that they only took 15 in my oven (which may be hotter than average), so just watch for the crust to turn golden brown, and then remove from the oven, cut, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

